Call for Papers: 2022 Rosalyn Higgins Prize



Event Date: 


Location name: 



Law & Practice of International Courts and Tribunals

The Law & Practice of International Courts and Tribunals now invites submissions for

the 2022 Rosalyn Higgins Prize


In light of her outstanding and inspiring achievements in the field of international dispute settlement, the Law & Practice of International Courts and Tribunals (LPICT) has named a Prize in honour of H.E. Rosalyn Higgins.


The Rosalyn Higgins Prize is an annual prize which awards EUR 1.000 of Brill book vouchers and a one-year LPICT subscription to the author of the best article on the law and practice of the International Court of Justice, either focusing solely on the ICJ or with the ICJ as one of the dispute settlement mechanisms under consideration. The winning article will also be published in LPICT and made freely available online for ninety days to maximize its dissemination.


Competition for the Prize is open to all: scholars as well as practitioners, junior as well as senior professionals. Submissions will be selected via a double-blind peer review process by a Prize Committee, including both co-Editors-in-Chief.


Exceptionally, two papers of an equally high standard can be selected. The Committee is also able to choose not to award the Prize if in its opinion none of the submitted papers reaches the required standards.


To be considered, submissions should be between 8.500 and 10.000 words in length (footnotes included), not yet published or under review elsewhere. Further instructions for authors are available here.


Submissions now open! Deadline: 30 April 2022


All papers for consideration of the Prize should be uploaded into the LPICT Editorial Manager system (select “special section” when asked for type of submission). After having uploaded their text, authors are recommended to send an email notifying their participation to Freya Baetens ( and Régis Bismuth (, LPICT Co- Editors-in-Chief (with “LPICT Rosalyn Higgins Prize” as email subject).


The prizewinner(s) will be announced at the latest in September 2022.

Contact email: