Call for Papers: U.S. Consumer Financial Services Law Writing Competition




American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers

American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers 


President Julie R. Caggiano 

President-Elect L. Jean Noonan 

Treasurer Leonard N. Chanin 

Secretary Obrea O. Poindexter 

Immediate Past President Steven I. Zeisel 


The American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers is pleased to announce its 2021 annual writing competition to recognize significant written contributions to the field of U.S. consumer financial services law in the following categories: 

(a) books (b) publishable articles, book chapters, or substantial book reviews by a professional in the field(c) publishable student case notes, articles, or comments 

The awards include cash payments of $5000, $3500, and $1500, respectively, and a Certificate of Recognition from the College. In any given year, depending on submissions, awards may be made in all, some or no categories. 

Eligible entries must discuss an aspect of U.S. consumer financial services law. Topics that relate principally to securities regulation, bankruptcy, insurance, or the safety and soundness aspects of banking regulation are not eligible. However, works on subjects within these (or other) areas will be considered if they bear directly on U.S. consumer financial services. 

Entries must have been written or published between November 15, 2019, and December 1, 2020. The deadline for submission is December 1, 2020. Unpublished entries should be typed, double spaced, and conform to law review standards. All entries should be submitted in electronic format via e-mail to the e-mail addresses at the end of this announcement. 

The American College of Consumer Financial Services Lawyers is a nonprofit association of attorneys who have made significant contributions to U.S. consumer financial services law over an extended period of time. Its members include academics, present and former federal and state regulatory and enforcement officers, authors in the field, private practitioners, counsel for financial institutions and other service providers, and representatives of consumer protection and advocacy organizations. 

Entries must be submitted in electronic format and should be sent to: 

Elizabeth C. Yen, ACCFSL Annual Writing Competition Chair Hudson Cook, LLP and 


information on the College and the writing competition may be found at: 


Contact email: